110818: Amor

Rick Amor Exhibition – Niagara Galleries, Melbourne

Rick Amor is showing ten recent paintings at Niagara Galleries..

His work has left me stunned before, quietly yet deeply provoked since I first encountered it in 1992 (see an earlier post)

It is the light across his forms that stays with me. His work creates a light which consumes the physical and psychological spaces evoked in his paintings. A light that runs like an undercurrent even through the shadows. A light that falls over the colossal forms, both natural and manufactured, which tower over any human presence.

Burning Cafe 2011

Burning Cafe 2011

The Iron Tree 2011

The Iron Tree 2011

 Woman Pissing 2007

Woman Pissing 2007

The silence experienced before his paintings is intense and beautiful. I don’t wish to say more about it other than that I walked out of Niagara Galleries somewhat different to the man who had walked in. I aspire to nothing less in my own work.

